The Shocking True Cost of a Speeding Ticket in NC
Many of us have experienced the feeling of despair after a passing police officer turns around in your rearview mirror. The squad car’s lights start flashing, and you know exactly why you’re being stopped. You were going too fast, and you’re likely getting a speeding ticket. In many places in the country, people who get a speeding ticket pay the fine, and life goes on with little or no additional consequences. However, paying the initial cost of a speeding ticket in NC is just the beginning of the financial impacts.
The face value cost of a speeding ticket in North Carolina can include multiple fees:
- Speeding Fine: $10-$50 depending upon how much over the speed limit you were traveling.
- Court Costs: Even if you decide to waive your right to appear in court, you still pay court costs ranging from $150 – $200.
- Zone Violation: If the violation occurs within a school or construction zone, an additional $250 fine is tacked on.
Insurance Rate Increase
Drivers in North Carolina enjoy some of the lowest automobile insurance rates in the nation. They also are subject to some of the most extreme consequences when convicted of a speeding violation.
Insurance rates depend on many factors including who your provider is, where you live, and what vehicle you drive. According to Insure.com, the average insurance policy will increase from $1170 to $1753 after a speeding ticket. That’s a price hike of $583 annually or 50%.
Total Cost of a Speeding Ticket in NC
You’ll pay increased insurance premiums for the 3 years the speeding ticket stays on your record. Using average values for the actual speeding ticket, court costs, and insurance premium increase, the actual price of a speeding ticket in North Carolina look like this:
- Speeding Fine: $30
- Court Costs: $175
- Insurance Rate Premium: $583 x 3 years = $1749
North Carolina Points System
Every moving violation in North Carolina is assigned a point value. When convicted of a violation, the points are added to your license. For example, a speeding ticket generally carries a weight of 3 points. If you accumulate 12 points within 3 years, your license is suspended.
Excessive Speeding: If you are convicted of traveling over 15mph over the limit when already traveling 55mph, your license is suspended.
Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC)
A judge may issue a Prayer for Judgment Continued (or PJC) instead of dismissing the charges or issuing a conviction. In the case of PJC, the violator will pay no fine for the actual offense and no points are issued against the license. However, they are still responsible for court costs. If no additional violation occurs in the next 3 years, no additional fees are charged. If convicted of a violation in the next 3 years, the driver is convicted of both offenses.
Drivers in North Carolina have some of the lowest automobile insurance rates in the country unless you get a speeding ticket. Getting a speeding ticket in NC will likely cost you a huge chunk of cash, and could even cost your license.
Check out additional clever articles below:
- When Am I Responsible For My Car Insurance Deductible?
- How Knowing My Car Insurance Coverage Saved Me $250
- Here’s How You Can Customize Your Car Insurance Needs to Save Money